Close this search box.

Book Review:The Five Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman

Sometimes couples that are seeking help find that they have lost their focus on the natural ways that they tend to show affection to their spouse, and the things their spouse does that they naturally recognize as true affection. This is a tremendous area of potential growth and repair for marriages that are experiencing strain. The Five Love Languages, by Gary Chapman focuses on this concept  is a must have for all couples (married or dating, strong or struggling) looking to find ways to show love to their spouse and help their significant other understand how to show love to them.  Is your natural  love language: Acts of Service, Physical Touch, Gift Giving, Quality Time or Words of Affirmation?  What is your spouse’s?  This book takes a look into each of these special languages and provides information on how to discover your primary love language and the languages of others as well as how to begin to speak in the dialect that will get the messages of love across to your spouse.  This is a great way to reignite the spark or keep the flame burning strong in any relationship, and we strongly encourage it as a resource for anyone entering into marital therapy or currently involved in marital therapy.

More information can be found at

Dr. Gary Chapman has written and co-written a number of other books about The Love Languages including:

The Five Love Languages: Men’s Edition

The Five Love Languages of Children

The Five Love Languages Singles Edition

The Five Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively

The Five Love Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships

Review by Sarah Jones, LCPC

Related Posts